Blogging and Ownership

I finally got round to wrapping up this WordPress.com blog and putting my stuff somewhere I can have a bit more control. It’s still hosted by someone else (it’s on Github) but the whole thing runs on my computer first and the web second.

I like this as a compromise. The technology I’ve used also reinforces the personal-first approach. You can read more about that here (on the new platform). Over the next few months I’m going to be thinking and doing more about moving to a more independent way of working; my personal blog is a small part of that.

In the meantime, please take a moment to subscribe by email to the new blog. It’s handled by another third party (Mailchimp), but it gets it up and running. If you have other solutions that don’t massively sacrifice the simplicity please let me know in the comments.

Anyway, there’s a long way to go with all this. For now, it’s goodbye WordPress.com and I hope to see you in the new place.

Leave a Reply

